After a hiatus, I’ve gotten back to reading The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, this time turning the halfway point at The Necromancer.

Evidently, I’m on a YA kick (and that will probably continue because I’m not looking for any heavy reading right now). After finishing up the current entries in The Maze Runner series, I’m looking to finish off another series. And much like last time’s series, this is a series that I like but don’t love.

But it does have one thing going for it: It’s a great series for times you can’t read for long periods without interruption.

I was traveling and dealing with the Thanksgiving festivities, so I didn’t have a lot of time to just sit and read. Even on planes, I can’t read nonstop very often (which reminds me of a story that I think I’ll tell in my next post).

After sitting and pushing my way through The Kill Order, I started reading The Necromancer on Thursday morning. Between car trips and Turkey ingestion, I was able to finish that book off yesterday.

Despite not sitting still to read very much, the book has very short, digestible chapters. And it hops from narrator to narrator, so it doesn’t feel like taking in too much information. It’s a good way to set up a book so that you keep reading.

The series is also very friendly for breaks. There’s always a synopsis of what’s going on before the book begins (something the Scott Pilgrim series also does, albeit in very different manners). It’s easy enough to catch up with the series, even after a long break.

But this is where the series also doesn’t land for me. Because it has so many different narrators (or at least focal characters), it feels like a lot of breadth without a lot of depth. You never really get to know any individual character terribly well, and each person only does one or two real things per book, especially as the series goes on and introduces more characters to follow.

That said, it’s not a bad series. It’s just not my favorite.

The Necromancer is sort of more of the same. And it doesn’t do much to change how you feel about the characters. No one pulls any great surprises. The plot twists have largely been telegraphed since the first book or two (I have trouble keeping the events straight because I’ve been a slacker and stretching this series out over months instead of the week or so it would take to read all 6).

My real gripe with this book is that the title is misleading. Saying it’s about a necromancer is like saying a movie’s about it’s last scene. Doesn’t really make sense.

That said, it continues the series, and I’m about halfway through the fifth book, so it’s at least enjoyable enough for me to keep reading.

-Q

