Finally, finished the series.

I think the real story with this series is that I read the first book more than a year ago and then read the last 3 within a week. For some reason, I have a compulsion to complete series, and the closer I get to the end of a finished series, the more likely I am to avoid reading anything else in the middle.

And so it went with this series.

My final thoughts on the series are mixed. I would call it a good but not great series. And to a certain extent, I hold a grudge for that. Ultimately, it’s the plot that I found the most compelling, not the characters. I think he tried to tell too many different series, which watered down my ability to care about any individual character.

A bit Machiavellian, I guess, is how I would describe the series. It sacrificed creating quality individuals to create an elaborate whole.

But again, I liked the plot. I liked the convoluted nature of all the interactions of these characters. It was a long setup for a quick punchline.

That does get to the negative of the series. It bounces from several narratives throughout. It makes for quick-paced reading, but you never fully invest in any one story.

never-half-ass-two-things-whole-ass-one-thing

Getting to the current book, it’s basically more of the same, except now you get the payoffs. You finally learn who everyone is (at least I think I know who everyone is; there were a lot of everyones to keep track of).

The weirdest part of the book is that it was like one long climax sequence. Exposition was thin despite this one being noticeably longer than the previous two books.

Almost like the The Lord of the Rings, you’d be better off treating this as one long book instead of multiples (though this one will tell you everything you missed periodically because it was written as a series, unlike LOTR).

Like a good series, you still kind of want to know what the characters are up to. And in this day of recycled material, I’m sure the series will be revisited (and it already has a couple of companion books). The more interesting story almost feels like the background story for the series (which actually raises a lot of questions when you start questioning individual components).

If you’re a fan of YA fantasy and you like them dipped heavily in multiple mythologies, you’ll probably like this. If none of that sounds appealing, maybe go read War and Peace. I’ve never read it personally, but it sure sounds like the opposite of this series.

