This won’t be terribly extensive. It’s mostly for the benefit of staying in the habit of posting as I finish.

I made my way through the 5th Scott Pigrim book today. They’re quick reads, what with it being a graphic novel series and all.

I still like the books, but at this point it’s really more of the same. You put insecure characters into comical comic (see what I did there?) circumstances and let them sort out their feelings as Scott gets attacked by a robot or two.

I think the downside to the series is the villains aren’t all that great. The focal point is on the good guys (and their evilish tendencies). The series feels like it has pretty good emotional weight for all of that, but I’m always a fan of a good villain (look no further than Jesse Eisenberg’s Lex Luthor). A good villain balances out the hero, though I guess in this case we have balanced characters, so maybe that makes up for loss.

Getting ready for the last book, I’m going to hold off until I have time to truly enjoy it. These books are too quick to read as it is, so I’m going to try my best to slow it down. I like the little nuances of the series (especially the sound effects), and I have habit of skipping things when I get really into book (I reread a book about 7 times before I caught the character was throwing up in a key scene).

Until next time, sports fans.

 

