Actually, you’re probably not. I’m going to make this as quick as possible because my laptop battery’s low, and I don’t feel like charging it.

51aleuytcdl-_sx258_bo1204203200_

First up is the running book by The Oatmeal. It has a long title, but there’s a picture so you can see the full thing. Technically this was a reread for me. I did a 5K on Saturday, so on Friday I decided to read the book again for inspiration. Also so I could get to this one joke:

The Oatmeal may actually just be an artistically version of me from an alternate universe. I always loved his comics, but when he produced the running comic, it was something I identified with at my core. His most recent comic actually did the same thing. He’s been able to put words and funny images to ideas that I can sometimes but not always articulate.

The book’s a great read, though it might not be worth the cost if you’re not already a fan of The Oatmeal. It’s a good coffee table book if nothing else. Though I suppose I would need to actually have a coffee table for that to be a benefit.

Oh well. It’s a good read. It’s insightful. It’s funny. But it’s basically just stringing together individual comics.

badbeginning

And next we have Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning. I’d been mildly intrigued by this series for a few years, but I could never make myself read it.

I wish I had stuck with that lack of momentum.

I picked the book up at a low cost, and it was an “eh” experience. Granted, I’m not a kid, so I’m not the target demographic. I just wasn’t that enthused by the story. Again, I’m not the target market. If nothing else, I’m glad I read it so I won’t worry about reading the rest of the series. I may give the upcoming Netflix show a try, but I won’t be looking up the books again.

Side note, the pseudonym of Lemony Snicket belongs to Daniel Handler. I know this because I picked up Why We Broke Up a couple of years ago. I made it halfway through the book before I had to give up on it. It was a nice premise, but I just couldn’t ever get into it. I was able to drag myself through Wuthering Heights but not that book. That should have been a sign I wasn’t going to like his books that were targeting an even more different demographic. But it was a well-known series that was on sale, so I had to give it a try. Now I’ve got that out of my system, I can return to my regular realm of fantasy.

And without further ado, I’ll see you next time literary fans. My guess is it will be when I finish the last Harry Potter book in the seven-part series (because The Cursed Child has thrown a wrench in what can be considered a part of the series). It’s also possible I’ll get hooked on something else along the way, so who knows? Maybe I’ll decide to rant about rules guiding magic in books (there’s a source that I can’t find right now that posits the more you explain the rules of magic, the more you can use it in a books. So HP has lots of explanation and lots of use. Tolkien doesn’t explain much but also doesn’t use magic much).

That was the most awkward concluding paragraph ever. Guess I had to write this paragraph so that paragraph wouldn’t actually be the last paragraph.

