I’m continuing my dive into the world of comic books. I’m not sure how this phase started so late in life, but we’ll roll with it.

This round was Runaways by Brian K. Vaughn (for those of you keeping score, this is the reason I picked up the book) and illustrated by Adrian Alphona. It collects the first 6 issues of the series.

Runaways follows the first 6 issues of the story, where we find 5 teens and 1 tween who discover their parents are not boring philanthropists but instead are an evil organization of super villains.

And you thought your parents sucked.

As with any coming of age story, our protagonists will discover unknown gifts along the way to help them survive (and who knows, maybe thrive in future issues; I haven’t gotten there yet).

Evidently the series was geared toward a younger demographic and manga audiences. This is according to Wikipedia, which is of course legit. As for what I’ve seen, that does seem to fit. The story does feature death (not Death like the one hanging out in the Sandman series), but it maintains a pretty light story. If you compare it to Vaughn’s other work I’ve read (Saga and Y: The Last Man), this story is downright family friendly.

But it doesn’t lack for an interesting story. It’s not the greatest thing in the world, but it’s a fun plot to follow. You get to see characters grow as they rebel against their parents. And really, all kids rebel against their parents, so at least this kids are the good guys (so far).

The thing that was lacking a lot of the time for me was the artwork. It’s taken me a fair amount of comics and graphic novels to finally feel like I can critique the artwork. And this one is a little lacking. It’s not bad, but it doesn’t capture the expressiveness of Saga or even the emotions that you get in simple artwork of Scott Pilgrim and Seconds.

I’m realizing artwork makes a big difference. A lot of the time, you’ve got a character with dialogue, but the artwork doesn’t match what’s going on. Saga really is the best artwork I’ve seen. Going from other series back to that one really put it in focus. You don’t notice good work until you see work that doesn’t keep up.

Aside from sometimes lacking artwork (but not as bad as I’ve seen in some other work), this has been a fun series to start. I’m in no rush to jump back in, so I’ll probably wait until the second volume is on sale returning. In the meantime, I’ll just have to read the 20+ books I haven’t read yet sitting in Kindle and on my bookshelves.

I think I have a problem.

