This is one that I’ve been wanting to reread for a while. I’m a big fan of the rereading. I feel like it’s a great chance to enjoy a book in a new way.

There was just one problem: I didn’t have the book any more. It wasn’t mine. I gave it back to its owner, so it ended up somewhere at some point, and that wasn’t with me. I almost bought a copy and kept it (I think I gave it to someone as a Christmas gift).

Fortunately, I had a road trip that was coming up, so I ventured to the university library to see what their audiobook options were. They had much less selection than the county library had, but I was able to make a couple of grabs.

This was my first time revisiting a book as an audiobook (actually, that’s a lie. I’m in the middle of another that I started first, but this is the first one I completed because I took this one on the road with me). This changed the experience and also mitigated some of the problems I have with audiobooks.

Focusing on the experience, because I knew the basic plot, it was easier to deal with the moments when I missed something because I was trying to not get hit by an 18-wheeler. At the same time, it’s been long enough since I’ve read this book that I was still engaged in the story and wanted to pay attention to the little jokes sprinkled throughout.

On to the book: Playing for Pizza by John Grisham.

I’ve never read a lawyer book by John Grisham. I’ve read this one and Skipping Christmas. I work at a university where a whole bunch of things are named after him, and I still haven’t read the types of books he’s most known for (and made the money that paid for the things that have his name on them).

That said, the books of his I’ve read, I’ve enjoyed. They’re not masterpieces, but they were fun.

This story deals with an NFL castoff quarterback who bottoms out so badly that he ends up playing for a club team in Italy.

It’s sort of a football story if you don’t know football. If you do know football, it’s a story of personal growth during cultural change.

You don’t have a fast-paced story. You don’t have some big plot that you follow. Really, you just follow a man-boy coming to terms with who he is and where he’s going. The story’s a bit meandering because of that. You get a bit of fish out of water, love life, working with others, etc. You don’t get a deep dive into any of it. It’s easy to understand how this could be problematic for some people, but I liked it well enough.

If you can get a free copy or a cheap copy, this is well worth it. If you see the hardback, you might want to leave it alone. It’s good, but it’s not cost of a nice meal good.

The other audiobook reread will be coming up soon, so hopefully I’ll see you party people then.

-Q

