Hah. I was reading the title wrong. I kept reading it as Leviathan’s Wake and not Leviathan Wakes. Well, that changes things.

After working my way through the über-mundane world of Lucky Jim (while also sneaking in Paper Girls and iZombie), my next stop was a space-epic in the form of Leviathan Wakes by James S.A. Corey (pseudonym of Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck). The book follows a future where humans have been colonizing the solar system. It’s the first in The Expanse series, now a Sci-Fi SyFy TV show.

I kept running across things that recommended the show, but I don’t have cable, and it’s not carried on my only streaming option (by only option, I mean I’m only paying for Netflix because I don’t watch all of what I want to on that as it is). At some point, I ran across the book recommendation, so I downloaded it and had it sitting around a few months.

The book was fantastic. It uses dueling narrators (like dueling banjos, not dueling gunslingers) to tell the story, which artificially keeps the pace up because if you want to keep going with plot A, you have to keep reading plot B. I’m a sucker for this every time (looking at you Game of Thrones), but I’m also a tiny bit resentful toward it. I think there’s something to be said for telling an epic through a single character. That resentment doesn’t extend toward enjoying the books as I’m reading them, though.

Our narrators are a cop (Miller) and a space transport worker (Holden, and I really have no idea how to describe him without giving away the plot). Of course there stories are going to intersect, but it’s fun to watch them deal with their minutiae as they unknowingly work their way toward each other. Miller is acerbic and jaded, while Holden is the optimistic idealist, sort of. This allows them to have a weird dynamic when interacting with each other and also allows them to go to more extremes without it annoying the reader.

With this being a space epic, the physics and practicalities of space travel were also explored, which meant I got to return to some ground covered by Seveneves. This version was a much lighter read than Seveneves. I kind of wish I’d read them in the opposite order just because of how heavy Seveneves was compared to Leviathan Wakes was in that respect.

Because this is a nine-part series, I can only vaguely comprehend all of what’s going on in terms of the big-picture plot. This story as to get a lot of balls rolling that won’t finish for more than 5,000 pages if they keep up the same length of novels as the first one. Right now, I’m pretty happy in how the smaller story is tracking the bigger story, though this has the possibility to spin out of control like A Song of Ice and Fire has where there are too many moving pieces to be able to tell a cohesive story at times (don’t get me wrong, I love those books, but there are too many moving pieces).

As for now, I probably won’t read the next book right away. They’re only at 6 of 9 published, so there’s no harm in stringing out the reading of the series a little. Hopefully I can catch another sale. If not, no worries. I won’t be short on books any time soon.

Adios, mes amis.

-Q

