After a long break, I finally got to my next volume of Sandman by Neil Gaiman. This round was a contained story that featured very little of the eponymous entity.

That was a pretentious sentence.

For those not in the know, Morpheus is the Sandman who is the personification of dreams. The series as a whole feels like an existential crisis. You don’t have a hero rushing in to save the day. You have a god-like entity trying to manage his realm while being a little depressed.

Volume 5 is called A Game of You and features a seemingly minor character from a previous volume abandoning her minor duties to be her own master of a dreamland. And in this case the dreams are making their way to the real world to attack her.

Yeah, how’s that for added nightmares?

I look at this volume in a little bit of a mixed fashion. On the one hand, it was good. There’s no getting around that. It’s weird as all get out, but it was interesting to read. On the other hand, you have a series named after a character who features very sparingly. It’s like going to see the Cavs play and LeBron sits on the bench. Even if the team wins, we all know who you came here to see.

The artwork was fantastic. The story was great. I wouldn’t jump into this volume if you’re not already reading the series, but it’s also not a low point either. It’s an interesting side jaunt. You’re not going to learn a lot of new information about the main character of the series, but you are going to get new information on the world he oversees, so that’s pretty cool.

I think that’s my halfway point in the collection. Not sure when I’ll finish it (I’m trying to work through a queue of books, including a couple I’m reading right now), but I see the end in sight.

That actually says a lot about my view on the series. I like it, but I don’t love it. My view might change by the end, but at this point, I don’t feel the need to dive into it like I do with Saga. It’s good enough that I’m going to see it through (and I own the rest of the volumes, so there’s also that).

Until next time, nerds.

