When last we left our hero, she was coming to terms with her powers.

The first volume of Ms. Marvel was good. No getting around that. Second volume? It was great.

With comic books, I’m noticing something different than I notice with other media. Typically, I like the first in a series and then there’s a lull as the author/creator has to build a world. That first punch was their best one. They didn’t know if they would get more swings, so that first one usually leaves it all on the table.

Generally, the second in a series is the one I like the least.

But with comic books, because they’re intended to be an extended form of storytelling, the beginning has been where I’ve seen more rough patches. They’re figuring out how they want to tell the stories. They’re working on the artwork. Puberty in print.

The second volume of the Ms. Marvel hit its stride. The artwork felt a touch cleaner, though it still has that touch of roughness that the artist seems prone to (and something I noted with Runaways). Now the roughness feels like it belongs with the series. The hero is new to the job, so the slight roughness of the artwork fits with the roughness of her figuring out how to do her new job.

I don’t want to go into the plot too much because there’s a two-issue guest who is my favorite superhero. Like, I want to get a tattoo of this superhero favorite.

One aspect of this I really enjoyed was the support system coming into play. She’s a masked superhero, so only a small number of people know who she is yet, and that doesn’t include family members. That said, you see them come into play in less antagonistic roles in this volume.

Comic book volumes don’t lend themselves to a lot of description, so I want to cap it with what’s really been pulling me in: It’s so effing relatable. I’m getting life advice from a fictional teenage girl, and I’m completely ok with that.

Everyone deserves theme music. #msmarvel #marvel #comics

A post shared by Quisto Settle (@applications_of_randomness) on

Seriously, Ms. Marvel really is a fantastic series. Glad I accidentally bought the 5th volume so I had to buy the 1st 4 too.

A post shared by Quisto Settle (@applications_of_randomness) on

This is something I noticed with Saga. There were moments that were just a great boiling down of life. And so it feels like more than a story. It’s something that’s grabbed a piece of your being, and you feel like more of a participant than an observer.

With that, I am calling it a night. I’m excited to see what this series has in store next.

