And so it continues. Not being a comic book person, I don’t really know the bigger picture of what’s going on in the Marvel universe during this volume (Secret Wars, evidently), but basically, it looks like the end of the world.

Something ominous is happening in Manhattan, and Jersey City is left to fend for itself, except it has Ms. Marvel. And Ms. Marvel gets some help along the way. Not a bad way to go.

This volume allows a couple of arcs to play out that were getting rolling from the last volume. One was continuing the storyline of an old crush. Nothing terribly exciting about it beyond it being further reassurance that I was right about the crush the second he showed up. The other continuance is what was hinted in the last volume, though the played it out a little differently than I thought they would, so that was cool.

Overall, the story is still interesting. Nothing Earth-shattering in the plot. That’s ok. Sometimes a big event just has to happen. Maybe we’ll get a curveball later on.

As for the art, we get the return of Adrian Alphona, so the art is back to what it was. Not my favorite art in the world, but it suits this series. I think he stops on the series at some point, so I’m interested to see what that does to the aesthetic.

The art is going to send me on a little rant. This is the second volume in a row where Kamala makes an appearance in another series that’s included in the volume. This time it’s Spiderman. All well and good from that standpoint. Where I get a little miffed is the change in the character. There’s a difference in the character’s personality. Not a lot, but you can feel the difference.

The other aspect that annoys me more though is the visual representation. I know it’s a different series, so it has to have a different artist, but Kamala goes from normal to teen romance normal. It’s like comic artists don’t know how to draw people except for generically attractive ones. One of the things I appreciated about Ms. Marvel, particularly Adrian Alphona’s portrayal, is that she looks like a normal teenager (well, a normal teenager as portrayed by a comic book artist). This helps ground the story more. These fantastical stories are good, but they’re better when you have a grounded base.

But that’s all I really have to say about that. The next volume lets us pick up after the end of the world. I think. I don’t know. Entertaining anyway.

