I’m typing on a phone, so forgive the impending typos.

A while ago, I came across a copy of Pride and Prejudice for a dollar or two on Kindle, so I bought it. Not long after, I came across the free copy already on my iBooks. Whoops.

But we can’t help that.

Despite owning two digital copies, I still couldn’t quite read it. My interest, though, was piqued by two movies. The first was Mansfield Park. I enjoyed it, and it at least got me thinking about reading Jane Austen books. The other movie? Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

Was it a great movie? No, but it was fun. I kind of wanted to read the book, but it seemed inappropriate to read that book before reading the actual source material. Also, I generally pictured these actors as the characters, including the former Dr. Who as Mr. Collins and Cersei Lannister as Lady Catherine. That said, I kept rotating between Colin Firth and Sam Riley as Darcy.

Finally, I started it a month ago as my Kindle book. Unfortunately this hurt the experience some. This ebook has chapters but no searchable table of contents like most do, meaning tracking my progress was difficult and I never knew how long a chapter actually was. I’m pretty sure I would have been better off with my free iBooks version.

As for the book itself, it was enjoyable enough. Not my favorite thing in the world, but I liked it. A downside is knowing the cultural significance of the book, and seeing its references everywhere (not to mention said zombie movie), so I loosely knew what would happen in the story.

My chief issue is more a product of when it was written. Like most older books, it took me a while to get accustomed to the writing and flow of the book. It was probably 40% (again, Kindle) before I really got into the flow of things.

This happened with A Tale of Two Cities too. I ended up loving that book, but I literally fell asleep reading one of the first couple of chapters. I guess it just takes some work to get into the right rhythm. Twain books have a similar effect because I have to read the books in the accent of the location to even understand the dialogue.

I won’t pretend that’s a flaw in the book, just a character of it. Once you understand the rules and structure governing things, it’s easier to follow.

If you’re the sort to read a book review blog, you’ve probably already read this book, so I don’t know what all to say. If you can follow English, early 19th century humor, it’s funny at times. A lot of it is basically about people being rude and embarrassing. As an all-time romance book, I have no good frame of reference, save for YA fiction. I mean, Darcy did some decent things, but did he hang out in her room while she slept like Edward or give her burnt bread like Peeta? Ok, maybe Darcy is a better model than these guys.

As for Elizabeth, she’s a fun character to follow. Mostly treated as pretty close to perfection aside from her initial role in the closest thing you get to a love triangle in the book. Makes her easy to like, though not the easiest to believe.

And one last rant before closing this review: Between this book and Wuthering Heights, I’m of the opinion rich people in Britain in the 19th century did nothing except sit, eat, walk the grounds, and collect money. It was hard to ignore that the characters basically had nothing to do, meanwhile servants did all the real work. And for real, people would leave for weeks at a time to stay with relations. What the hell? The English are weird.

 

